Roots

Posted: August 2, 2016 in My Posts

I have always been a fan of history. Every time I meet an elder from our family I always ask about our family’s history. So today I learned that our original family surname is “Mutambara”…..crazy hey…The surname we use today “Manyore” was the name of a particular great grandfather of mine. Who migrated from Chimanimani with his two brothers Sunhwa and Mutukwa. The cause of the migrations was that they where running away from the raids by the ┬áNdebele known as “Madzviti” back then…This explained why my grandfather “Petros Manyore” was a headsman. Knowing this info made me really happy and ┬áI will make sure this history would be passed down to those who will come after me….

Leave a Reply

